skip to primary navigationskip to content

Von Hügel Institute

for Critical Catholic Inquiry

Studying at Cambridge


Advisory Board

Nicholas Boyle, FBA
  • Emeritus Schröder Professor of German, University of Cambridge
  • Fellow of Magdalene College
Lisa Sowle Cahill
  • Professor of Theology at Boston College
  • Former President of the Catholic Theological Society of America and the Society of Christian Ethics
Francis Campbell
  • Vice-Chancellor of St Mary’s University College, Twickenham
  • Former UK Ambassador to the Holy See
  • Former Policy Adviser at the Foreign and Commonwealth Office
Manuel Castells
  • Professor of Communication, University of Southern California and Universitat Oberta de Catalunya
  • Member of the governing board of the European Institute of Innovation and Technology
John Cottingham
  • Professor Emeritus of Philosophy, University of Reading
  • Professorial Research Fellow, Heythrop College, London
Andrew Gamble, FBA
  • Professor Emeritus of Politics and Fellow Emeritus of Queens’ College, University of Cambridge
David Hollenbach, SJ
  • Pedro Arrupe Distinguished Research Professor, Walsh School of Foreign Service, Georgetown University
Austen Ivereigh
  • Journalist, author, and commentator
  • Founder of 'Catholic Voices'
Martina Liebsch
  • Director of Policy, Caritas Internationalis
John Loughlin
  • Former Director of the Von Hügel Institute
  • Emeritus Fellow of St Edmund's College
  • Emeritus Professor of European Politics, Cardiff University
Fr Alban McCoy, OFM Conv
  • Dean of St Edmund's College
Sir Tom Phillips, KCMG
  • Commandant of the Royal College of Defence Studies, London
  • Associate Fellow of Chatham House
  • Honorary Fellow of St Edmund’s College, Cambridge


An interdisciplinary research hub inspired by Catholic thought and culture, focussed on contemporary global realities, and dedicated to encounter, dialogue, and transformation

Keep up with our news